Joe Girardi a day after replay blunder costs Yankees in ALDS finally admits: ‘I screwed up’

It came a day late, but, in a rare occurrence, Joe Girardi actually admitted he made a mistake.

“I screwed up,” Girardi said Saturday, a day after his massive managerial blunder cost the Yankees in a stunning 9-8, 13-inning loss to the Indians in Game 2 of the ALDS at Progressive Field.

With two on, two outs and the Bombers ahead 8-3 in the sixth, Girardi failed to challenge a strike-three foul tip from Lonnie Chisenhall on an 0-2 fastball from Chad Green. The ball deflected off the knob of Chisenhall’s bat and into Gary Sanchez’s glove, but it was ruled a hit-by-pitch. Chisenhall didn’t react as hitters usually do when they are struck.

Sanchez even looked toward the dugout, indicating he felt strongly that his manager should challenge. After the game, the 24-year-old catcher said he heard something, and while he wasn’t sure that it hit the bat, he was indeed sure it didn’t hit Chisenhall.

“He never reacted,” Sanchez said through an interpreter. “He didn’t move.”

Cleveland Indians' Francisco Lindor reacts after hitting a grand slam off the Yankees during the sixth inning of Game 2 on Friday.

Cleveland Indians’ Francisco Lindor reacts after hitting a grand slam off the Yankees during the sixth inning of Game 2

Article source: http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/baseball/yankees/girardi-day-replay-blunder-finally-admits-screwed-article-1.3547735

Useful Links: Swiss Watches | Watch Coupons | Coupons | Alu Foam | Security Rooms | Oldtimer | Bitcoin News

NO COMMENTS